no embedded content support
What is First Swing?

NAGA in conjunction with the Disabled American Veterans (DAV) Charitable Trust and the Professional Golf Association (PGA) sponsors nationwide "First Swing" seminars and "Learn to Golf" clinics annually.  The one-or-two day clinics bring golf professionals, physical and recreational therapists, and the physically challenged together to teach, learn, and enjoy golf.

The First Swing began in 1988 and was developed and perfected by a double below knee amputee, Bob Wilson, National Amputee Golf Association Executive Director. The program was designed to instruct therapists to teach and encourage the disabled to learn, or re-learn, the game of golf — not only because just about every physically challenged individual, regardless of age, is able to play, but also because it contributes dramatically to the individual’s emotional and physical well-being, instilling self-confidence and pride in personal achievement.

The First Swing also enables the individual to enjoy the unique, friendly atmosphere found on the golf course.   Rehabilitation hospitals, parks, recreational departments and prosthetic and orthotic centers host the one or two-day program. 

The first day of the program teaches the basics of the game to therapists and others interested in correctly teaching the disabled. The rules of golf and the singular differences presented by various types of disabled individuals are discussed. Participants are invited to swing a club standing on one leg, sitting in a wheel chair, using only one hand, etc., to better appreciate the demands that will be made on their educational training in teaching others. The second day is devoted to instructing the disabled participants attending the learn to golf clinic phase of the program under the supervision of NAGA instructors.

The program is open to every disabled individual and is offered at no cost to the host facility Click here for information on how to set up a First Swing or contact NAGA.


 

NAGA's 2005 First Swing Seminars 

 Learn to Golf Clinics Schedule

 

Last Updated Wednesday, 28-Nov-2012 19:14:42 EST

2005 NAGA "First Swing" Seminars and "Learn to Golf" Clinics for Persons with 
Disabilities

March 16th
Brooklyn, NY  (NYPS 205 Gymnasium)
Adaptive Physical Education, NY Dept of Education
Dee Lewis  (212-374-2315)
NY DOE, 52 Chambers St, Room 218, New York, NY 10007
e-mail:  dlewis6@nycboe.net

April 13th
Richmond, VA  (Windy Hill Golf Club)
Sheltering Arms Rehab Hospital
Alison Clarke, CTRS  (804-804-7230x272)
8254 Atlee Rd, Mechanicsville, VA 23116-1844
e-mail:  aclarke@shelteringarms.com

April 25th & 26th
Baton Rouge, LA (First Tee)
BREC
Jack Terry, PGA (225-775-9008)
P.O. Box 15887, Baton Rouge, LA
e-mail: thefirstteeebrp@msn.com

April 25th
Piscataway, NJ  (Fairway Golf Center)
JFK Rehab Institute P & O Clinic
Sue Callaghan, PT  (732-321-7056)
65 James St., Edison, NJ 08818
e-mail: probrace@msn.com

April 28th
Mt. Holly, NJ  (Springfield Golf Course)
Moss Rehab Hospital
Kristen Gebhardt, CTRS  (215-456-9684)
1200 West Tabor Rd., Philadelphia, PA 19141
e-mail:  kgebhardt@einstein.edu

April 30th - May 1st
Round Rock, TX (Teravista G.C.)
Sorrel Richman (512-651-9851)
4533 Teravista Club Dr., Round Rock, TX 78664
e-mail: srichman@troongolf.com

May 2nd & 3rd
Chaska, MN (Hazeltine National Golf Club)
Mark Josephson
HNGC1900 Hazeltine Blvd., Chaska, MN 55318
e-mail: mjosefson@velotel.com

May 5th
Lyons, NJ  (MAVERIC Driving Range & Learning Center)
VA Medical Center
Bob Valentino  (908-647-0180x6884)
151 Knollcroft Rd., Building 57, Room 148, Lyons, NJ 07939-5000
e-mail:  robert.valentino@med.va.gov

May 6th
Center Valley, PA  (Center Valley Club)
Good Shepherd Rehab Hospital
Linda Bollinger, CTRS  (610-776-3588)
501 St. John St., Allentown, PA 18103-3296
e-mail:  lbollinger@gsrh.org

May 11th
Saddlebrook, NJ  (Willowbrook Golf Center)
Kessler Institute for Rehab
Ann Marie Chesterman  (201-368-6012)
300 Market St, Saddlebrook, NJ 07666
e-mail:  achesterman@kessler-rehab.com

May 13th
Elmsford, NY  (Fairview Golf Center)
Burke Rehab Hospital
Deirdre Otto, CTRS  (914-597-2355)
785 Mamaroneck Ave., White Plains, NY 10605
e-mail: dotto@burke.org

May 13th-14th
Indianapolis, IN
Hook Rehab Rehabilitation Center Academy
Beth Edwards, CTRS (317-355-5095)
1500 N. Ritter Ave., Indianapolis, IN 46219
e-mail: BEdwards@ecommunity.com

May 13th-14th
Stowe, MA (Stowe Acres CC)
Center for Living and Working
Mike Ritz, Director (508-363-1226 x104)
67 Millbrook St., 1st Floor
Worcester, MA 01606
email: mritz@centerlw.org

May 18th
Marlton, NJ  (Indian Springs Golf Club)
Marlton Rehab Hospital
Amy Sabo, PT  (856-988-4110)
92 Brick Dr, Marlton, NJ 08053
e-mail: asabo@marltonrehab.com

May 31st
Baltimore, MD  (Pine Ridge Golf Course)
Kernan Rehab Hospital
Pam Cauley, CTRS  (410-448-6320)
2200 Kernan Dr., Baltimore, MD 21207
e-mail: pcauley@kernan.umm.edu

June 1st
Fredericksburg, VA  (Cannon Ridge Golf Club)
US Orthotics & Prosthetics
Greg Wright, CP  (800-333-4102)
30 Town & Country Dr., Suite 103, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
e-mail: gwright011@aol.com

June 3rd
Schenectady, NY  (Stadium Golf Course)
Sunnyview Rehabilitation Hospital
Connie Todt, CTRS  (518-382-4576)
1270 Belmont Ave., Schenectady, NY 12308
e-mail: CTodt@sunnyview.org

June 4th
Braintree, MA  (Braintree Municipal Golf Course)
Bob Beach, PGA  (781-843-6513)
101 Jefferson St, Braintree, MA 02184
e-mail: golfshop@braintreegolf.com

June 7th
Wallingford, CT
Gaylord Rehab Hospital
Todd Munn, CTRS  (203-284-2772)
Box 400, Gaylord Farms Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492
e-mail: tmunn@gaylord.org

June 15th
Fort Monmouth, NJ  (Suneagles Golf Course)
Manfredi Orthotics & Prosthetics
Jean Manfredi  (732-222-0366)
289 Broadway, Long Branch, NJ 07740
e-mail: jean.manfredi@verizon.net

June 17th
Scotch Plains, NJ  (Ash Brook Golf Course)
Co. of Union, NJ Parks & Recreation
Ellen Chase  (908-527-4096)
Union Co. Admin. Building, Elizabeth, NJ 07207
e-mail: echase@ucnj.org

June 24th & 25th
Providence, RI (Button Hole Golf Facility)
Nunnery O&P Technologies
Becky Blaine (401-294-4210)
7408 Post Rd., North Kingstown, RI 02852
e-mail: blbnun@aol.com

June 25th
Farmingdale, NY  (Heartland Golf Center)
Brunswick Hospital Center
Carol Chamoff, PT  (631-789-7333)
366 Broadway, Amityville, NY 11701
e-mail: pepsi4651@aol.com

TBA
Syracuse, NY
VA Medical Center
Josh Mullen, CPO  (315-374-2315)
61 Second St, Camden, NY 13316
e-mail: jdmullen1@netzero.net

July 26th
College Park, MD  (University of Maryland Golf Course)
NASCOTT Rehabilitation Services
Jason Bulger  (800-535-6556x2159)
2301-C Broadbirch Dr., Silver Springs, MD 20904
e-mail: jason.bulger@medstar.net

July 27th
Berlin, MD  (The Beach Club Golf Links)
Health South Chesapeake Rehab
Tanya Vilov, CTRS  (410-546-4600)
220 Tilghman Rd., Salisbury, MD 21801
e-mail: tanya.vilov@healthsouth.com

July 29th -30th
Tacoma, WA
VA Medical Center
Kristi Goodhard, CTRS (206-277-6683)
VAPCHS   1600 S. Columbian Way (S-117-RCS)
Seattle, WA 90858
e-mail: Kristine.Kvitle@med.va.gov

July 30th
Glen Cove, NY  (Transitions of Long Island)
Glengariff Health Care Center
Tricia Kearney, OT  (516-676-1100x2311)
141 Dosoris Lane, Glen Cove, NY 11542
e-mail: triciakearney@hotmail.com

August 4th
New Hartford, NY  (Stonebridge Golf & Country Club)
Sitrin Medical Rehab Center
Marc DePerno, PT  (315-797-3114x459)
2050 Tilden Ave., New Hartford, NY 13413
e-mail: madyankee3@adelphia.net

August 16th
Exeter, PA  (Fox Hill Country Club)
Allied Services Rehab Hospital
Patty Dewey, CTRS  (570-341-4312)
475 Morgan Hwy, P.O. Box 1103, Scranton, PA 18501
e-mail: pdewey@allied-services.org

September 7th
Oaks, PA  (Rivercrest Golf Club & Preserve)
Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital
Krista Eckard Beach, CTRS  (610-640-7880)
414 Paoli Pike, Malvern, PA 19355
e-mail: eckardk@mlhs.org

September 9th
Mays Landing, NJ  (Mays Landing Golf Club)
Bacharach Institute for Rehabilitation
Gloria Gugliotta  (609-748-5323)
61 W. Jim Leeds Rd, Pomona, NJ 08240
e-mail: gloriag@bacharach.org

October 21st & 22nd
Los Angeles, CA
Centinela Freedom Regional Medical Center
Memorial Campus
Licet Camilo
e-mail: licet.camilo@centinelafreedom.com

* “First Swing” Seminars for Recreation Therapists, Physical Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Park & Recreation Directors, PGA, LPGA, USGTA Professionals. Attendees may receive CEU credits/hours. All events are "Learn to Golf" clinics for Individuals with Disabilities.

NAGA Home | What is NAGA? | Meet the Board | Join NAGA | Benefits | Scholarship
Magazine | Sponsors | First Swing | Tournaments | Tournament Invitations | 2014 Schedule | NAGA Film | Links | News
Contact NAGA | Tournament Results | NAGA Photo Gallery | Sitemap | Website Help
Web design provided by Luca Consulting Services
This page was last updated on Wednesday, 28-Nov-2012 19:14:42 EST.
Copyright © 2014 NAGA